Polo Park Zürich becomes supreme winner of Polo Rider Cup

Por Horse TV
NEWS | Polo

This first edition of the POLO RIDER CUP concluded this past Sunday 20th of June at the Polo Club du Domaine de Chantilly. The final between the two unbeaten teams, Polo Park Zürich and Deauville International Polo Club resulted in the victory from the Swiss team. 

Polo Park Zürich beat Deauville International Polo Club by 10-4.

The Swiss dominated the match

The beginning of the polo match was balanced as both teams were on equal terms except for a goal lead in favour of Polo Park Zürich at the end of the second chukker. However, from that point on the Swiss were unstoppable and completely dominated the match. 

Min Podesta and Carlos Solari scored an additional three goals during the fourth chukker. By the beginning of the final chukker, the score was at 10-3 and Deauville International Polo Club’s Ulysse Eisenchteter scored his second goal of the match. However, this was not enough to win against Polo Park Zürich.

Elena Venot, from Polo Park Zürich was proclaimed the MVP of the tournament. Min Podesta’s pony Pirómana won the Best Playing Pony award in the competition. 

The subsidiary cups were also filled with action 

A day before the final eight teams played the subsidiary cups to decide the other spots in the tournament. The opening match between Moscow Polo Club and Las Brisas Polo Club of Chicago ended up in a tie at the last chucker, 7-7. They both agreed not to go over time and share the 11th position of the tournament. 

For the 10th and 9th position, Polo Club Düsseldorf and La Aguada Polo Club fought it out in an intense game by 7-6. La Aguada won the first chukker 2-1 but the rest of the chukkers ended in a tie. A fantastic goal from Adrian Laplacette gave the win to Polo Club Düsseldorf. 

The third match of the day was also a close one. Hamburger Polo Club and Evviva Polo St. Moritz battled for the 8th and 7th position, and victory went for the German team. The Swiss team ended all the fourth chukkers with a one-goal lead, but Cesar Crasseman scored two decisive goals in the last one. 

The final match of the day between Dos Lunas Polo Club and Polo Club of Chantilly for the 6th and 5th position resulted in the victory of the Spanish team by 7-6 in overtime. Juan Pepa scored the winning goal. 

The third spot goes to Hong Kong Polo Association

Score progression was: 1-2 / 3-2 / 4-4 / 5-5 / 6-5 

The match for the 3rd and 4th position between Hong Kong Association and Empire Club of Coachella Valley resulted in the victory from the Hong Kong team who beat the American team by 6-5 goal in a close match. 

The fourth chukker ended up in a tie 5-5, however Thierry Vetois scored the goal in the last chukker. This gave the win to his team. All team players in the Hong Kong Polo Association scored, with Edouard Costes and Brieuc Rigaux scoring two goals each.